Department of Plant Protection

Department of Plant Protection is one of the oldest departments of its kind in Iran. It was established in 1967 and since then it has been offering a B.Sc. program in plant protection. Two M.Sc. programs (Agriculture Entomology since 1993 and Plant Pathology since 1999) are also offered in the Department of Plant Protection. Our Ph.D. programs in Agriculture Entomology has been established since 1990 and in Plant Pathology since 2007.
The Department of plant protection has hosted the Iranian Plant Protection Congress twice since its establishment, the last one was held in summer, 2004.
The department enjoys a reasonable level of facilities for educational and research purposes. There are six laboratories on the main campus of the university in the Faculty of Agriculture, devoted to the undergraduate education, including mycology, plant diseases, entomology, plant pests, toxicology and insect collection laboratories. In addition, in the glasshouse, attached to the department, there are eleven sections for graduate students to carry out their research projects. These glasshouses are equipped with mist makers and air conditioners. Moreover, in the graduate education center of the faculty, located 10 Km away the main campus in a region called Karkaj, research labs are also available including virology and genetic engineering, nematology, prokaryotes, acarology, insect ecology and insect physiology labs.
Major accomplishments of the department in the recent years are the following:
Fauna of mites in the region
Fauna of nematodes in the region,
Fauna of insects in the region
Molecular characterization of important plant viruses such as Grapevine fanleaf virus and Cucumber mosaic virus
Biological control of fungal diseases such as Sclerotinia sclerotiorum
Evaluation of insecticides on some important pests such Colorado beetle of potato
Study on alpha amylase enzyme activity in insects

 

Mir Jalil Hejazi
Professor
Department of Plant Protection
mjhejazi@tabrizu.ac.ir
+98 41 3339 2034
 

Gholamreza Niknam
Professor
Department of Plant Protection
g_niknam@tabrizu.ac.ir
+98 41 3339 2014

Reza Farshbaf Pour Abad
Professor
Department of Plant Protection
rfpourabad@yahoo.com
+98 41 3339 2039

Moosa Sabder
Professor
Department of Plant Protection
moosaber@gmail.com
+98 41 3339 2039

 

Shahrzad Iranipour
Professor
Department of Plant Protection
shiranipour@tabrizu.ac.ir
+98 41 3339 2034
 

Nemat Sokhandan Bashir
Associate Professor
Department of Plant Protection
nsokhandan@yahoo.com
+98 41 3339 2036

Mehdi Arzanlou
Associate Professor
Department of Plant Protection
arzanlou@tabrizu.ac.ir
+98 41 3339 2056
 

Samad Khaghaninia
Associate Professor
Department of Plant Protection
skhaghaninia@gmail.com
+98 41 3339 2042

Reza Khakvar
Assistant Professor
Department of Plant Protection
khakvar@tabrizu.ac.ir
+98 41 3339 2036

Roghaiyeh Karimzadeh
Assistant Professor
Department of Plant Protection
r_karimzadeh@tabrizu.ac.ir
+98 41 3339 2061

Ali Viani
Assistant Professor
Department of Plant Protection
viani@tabrizu.ac.ir
+98 41 3339 2036